41 Down, 9 to Go: Your State Could Be Next for Major Changes for Autism Support

In April 2015, Georgia became the forty-first state in the nation which forces insurance companies to cover treatment for children with autism six years old or younger. The legislation is called “Ava’s Law” and helps families afford up to $30,000 a year in evidence-based treatments.

As of the writing of this article, the vast majority of states have passed some form of autism insurance reform which prevents insurance companies from refusing coverage for children on the spectrum. Hawaii, North Carolina, and Ohio are currently pursuing autism insurance reform. Five states are not currently pursuing autism insurance reform. They are: Alabama, Idaho, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and Wyoming. You can find out more on a state-by-state basis here.

Have you or your children been impacted by autism insurance discrimination? Let us know in the comments below.

Support Research & Therapy

Help those with Autism and their families at The Autism Site for free!